Clinical symptoms:

The objective of therapeutic apheresis using immunoadsorbers is to remove pathogenic antibodies or auto-antibodies and circulating immune complexes from the patient’s plasma. These are very significant in the progress of immunological diseases. Immunoadsorption is therefore used as a therapeutic measure in the treatment of some autoimmune diseases or antibody-mediated transplant rejection. The adsorber systems used in immunoadsorption can differ, among other things, in their ligands and other characteristics. Fresenius Medical Care Adsorber Tec GmbH produces 4 different kinds of immunoadsorber. All of these can only be used with plasma, so the plasma must always be separated before they are used. (Source: Fresenius brochure “Immunoadsorption in dilated cardiomyophathy (DCM)” and “Globaffin – the first synthetic broadband immunoadsorber”)

Adsorber: Immunosorba®

The Immunosorba® adsorber contains Protein A as a ligand. This is a protein from the cell wall of the bacterium Staphylococcus aureus, which has a high binding affinity to the constant (Fc-) segment, especially IgG-class antibodies. Two adsorbers always work in alternation during the treatment in order to remove as many antibodies as possible. While one adsorbs, the other desorbs (= regenerates) and vice versa. This regeneration can take place as often as needed during treatment. After treatment, the adsorbers are preserved and used on the same patient as often as needed. (Source: Fresenius brochure “Immunoadsorption: effective treatment of autoimmune diseases”)

Adsorber: GLOBAFFIN®

The immunoadsorber GLOBAFFIN® is the first synthetic broadband immunoadsorber and contains the synthetic peptide GAM® as a ligand. It is thus completely free of animal materials. The peptide has a high binding affinity with antibodies (mainly IgG-class). GLOBAFFIN is also used as a duo and preserved after treatment for the next session. (Source: Fresenius brochure “Globaffin – the first synthetic broadband immunoadsorber”)

Adsorber: LIGASORB*

A “single-use” adsorber, approved in 2015, was developed for immunoadsorption in acute autoimmune disease. LIGASORB contains a recombinant A protein (produced using gene technology) as a ligand. One adsorber, which is regenerated multiple times during the treatment, is used per treatment. This allows a high level of binding of antibodies similar to the use of a double column, but the adsorber is not preserved after the treatment. LIGASORB is disposed of immediately after the treatment.

*Product is currently not available

Adsorber: IgEnio®

A new adsorber has been developed for the treatment of IgE-induced (immunoglobulin E) diseases. IgEnio® is a single-use adsorber which selectively decreases the IgE level in the blood plasma in a single pass. Recent epidemiological data indicate that IgE-induced diseases affect more than 25 percent of the world population. It is estimated that 10 percent of this group suffer severe allergic symptoms such as asthma and atopic dermatitis. IgEnio® offers these patients another therapeutic option. (Source: Fresenius brochure “IgEnio – a novel treatment option for removing IgE”)

Krankheitsbild:

Ziel der therapeutischen Apherese mit Immunadsorbern ist das Entfernen von pathogenen Antikörpern bzw. Autoantikörpern und zirkulierenden Immunkomplexen aus dem Patientenplasma. Diese sind vielfach im Krankheitsgeschehen immunologischer Erkrankungen bedeutsam. In der Behandlung bestimmter Autoimmunerkrankungen oder antikörpervermittelter Transplantatabstoßungen wird daher die Immunadsorption als therapeutische Maßnahme eingesetzt. Die bei der Immunadsorption verwendeten Adsorbersysteme können sich u. a. in ihren Liganden und weiteren Eigenschaften unterscheiden. Fresenius Medical Care Adsorber Tec GmbH stellt 4 verschiedene Immunadsorber her. Diese Immunadsorber können alle nur mit Plasma verwendet werden, daher muss hier immer vor Verwendung eine Plasmatrennung stattfinden. (Quelle: Fresenius Broschüre „Immunadsorption bei dilatativer Kardiomyopathie (DCM) sowie „Globaffin – der erste synthetische Breitband-Immunadsorber“)

Adsorber: Immunosorba®

Der Immunosorba®-Adsorber enthält als Ligand Protein A, ein Protein aus der Zellwand des Bakteriums Staphylococcus aureus, welches eine hohe Bindungsaffinität zum konstanten (Fc-) Segment vor allem der Antikörper der IgG-Klasse besitzt. Um so viele Antikörper wie möglich zu entfernen, arbeiten während einer Behandlung immer zwei Adsorber abwechselnd. Während der eine adsorbiert wird der andere desorbiert (=regeneriert) und vice versa. Diese Regeneration kann so oft wie nötig während einer Behandlung stattfinden. Nach der Behandlung werden die Adsorber konserviert und am gleichen Patienten so oft wie nötig eingesetzt. (Quelle: Fresenius Broschüre „Immunadsorption: Autoimmunerkrankungen wirksam behandeln“)

Adsorber: GLOBAFFIN®

Der Immunadsorber GLOBAFFIN® ist der erste synthetische Breitband-Immunadsorber und enthält als Ligand das synthetische Peptid-GAM®. Es ist damit vollständig frei von tierischen Materialien. Das Peptid hat eine hohe Bindungsaffinität zu den Antikörpern (vorwiegende der IgG-Klasse). GLOBAFFIN wird ebenfalls als Duo eingesetzt und am Anschluss an die Behandlung für die nächste Behandlung konserviert. (Quelle: Fresenius Broschüre „Globaffin – der erste synthetische Breitband-Immunadsorber“)

Adsorber: LIGASORB*

Für die Immunadsorption bei akuten Autoimmunerkrankungen wurde speziell ein „single-use“ (= Einweg) Adsorber entwickelt, der in 2015 die Zulassung erhielt. LIGASORB enthält als Ligand ein rekombinantes (mittels Gentechnologie hergestelltes) Protein A. Pro Behandlung wird ein Adsorber verwendet, welcher während der Behandlung mehrfach regeneriert wird. Dies ermöglicht eine hohe Bindungsmenge von Antikörpern ähnlich der Doppelsäulen jedoch findet hier keine Konservierung der Adsorber nach Behandlung statt. LIGASORB wird nach der Behandlung sofort entsorgt.

*Produkt derzeit nicht lieferbar

Adsorber: IgEnio®

Für die Behandlung von IgE-verursachten (Immunglobulin E) Krankheiten wurde ein neuer Adsorber entwickelt. IgEnio® ist ein Adsorber zum Einmalgebrauch, der in einem Durchlauf selektiv den IgE-Level im Blut-Plasma verringert. Jüngste epidemiologische Daten zeigen, dass die von IgE-verursachten Krankheiten mehr als 25 Prozent der Weltbevölkerung betreffen. Geschätzte 10 Prozent dieser Gruppe leiden an schweren allergischen Symptomen wie Asthma und atopischer Dermatitis. IgEnio® bietet diesen Patienten eine weitere Therapiemöglichkeit. (Quelle: Fresenius Broschüre „IgEenio – a novel treatment option for removing IgE“)